Skip to main content
Diocesan coat of arms

Diocese of GalwayKilmacduagh & Kilfenora

Deoise na GaillimheChill Mac Duach & Chill Fhionnúrach



Most Rev. Michael Duignan
Diocesan Office, The Cathedral, Galway
T. +353 (0)91 563566

Vicars General
Msgr Peter Rabbitte, The Cathedral, Galway
T. +353 (0)91 563577
Canon Ian O'Neill, Parochial House, Claregalway, Co. Galway
T. +353 (0)91 798741

Diocesan Office

Diocese of Galway, Kilmacduagh & Kilfenora
The Cathedral, Galway H91 A780
T. +353 (0)91 563566

Office Hours
Monday–Thursday 09:30–17:30; Friday 09:30–16:30
Closed for lunch 13.00–14.00 each day
Closed Saturday & Sunday

Diocesan Secretary & Moderator of the Curia
Rev. John Gerard Acton
T. +353 (0)91 563566

Financial Administrator, Property Manager & Archivist
Mr Tom Hansberry
T. +353 (0)91 563566

Office Administrative Co-ordinator
Dr Darina McCarthy
T. +353 (0)91 563566

Very Rev. Martin Whelan, Parochial House, Moycullen, Co. Galway
T. +353 (0)91 555106

Communications Officer
Very Rev. Diarmuid Hogan PP, Parish House, Oranmore, Co. Galway
T. +353 (0)91 794634

Sacred Music
Diocesan Director: Raymond O’Donnell, The Cathedral, Galway
T. +353 (0)91 563577

Retirement Support Officer
Mr Tom McCann

Finance Committee
The Finance Committee in conjunction with the bishop attends to matters of finance and the governance of the temporal goods of the diocese. The current Finance Committee members are: Right Rev. Msgr Peter Rabbitte VG, Very Rev. Michael Dean McLoughlin, Rev. John Gerard Acton, Mr Tom Hansberry, Mr Enda McGowan.

Diocesan Auditor
Michael McEvoy & Co., Registered Auditors, Seville House, New Dock Street, Galway. 
The Diocese of Galway, Kilmacduagh & Kilfenora is a registered charity (No. 20014438) and submits an Annual Report to the Charities Regulatory Authority.

Data Protection
Barrister Malachaí Ó Dubhda is Data Protection Officer and Information Law Consultant for the Western Dioceses. He can be contacted at