Skip to main content
Diocesan coat of arms

Diocese of GalwayKilmacduagh & Kilfenora

Deoise na GaillimheChill Mac Duach & Chill Fhionnúrach

Consultative Bodies

Council of Priests

The Council of Priests is a representative body of clergy comprised of elected and nominated members. It offers opinion and advice when consulted by the Bishop as outlined in the Code of Canon Law. A new Council of Priests is elected following the appointment of a new bishop. The Council of Priests consituted following the installation of Bishop Michael Duignan is as follows:
Galway City Deaneries: Msgr Peter Rabbitte VG and Rev. Declan Lohan
Galway Rural Deanery: Very Rev. Diarmuid Hogan
Kilmacduagh Deanery: Very Rev. Dr Hugh Clifford
Kilfenora Deanery: Very Rev. Robert McNamara
Special Ministries: Rev. John O’Halloran
Retired Clergy: Very Rev. Francis Larkin
Clergy ordained 1978 & earlier: Very Rev. Canon Tadhg Quinn
Clergy ordained 1979–1996: Very Rev. Dean Michael McLoughlin
Clergy ordained 1997–2022: Rev. John Gerard Acton
Religious Orders / Congregations / Personal Prelature: Rev. Kieran McCarthy MSC
Ex officio member: Very Rev. Canon Ian O’Neill VG

Cathedral Chapter

A Chapter of Canons appointed by the Bishop act as Trustees for the property and other assets of the Diocese. The principal function of the Trustees is to ensure that the assets of the Diocese are managed in accordance with the law of the land and for the good of the Diocese. The Chapter fulfils other roles assigned to it by law or by the Bishop.

The current Chapter members are: Very Rev. Monsignor Peter Rabbitte, VG; Very Rev. Ian Canon O’Neill, VG; Very Rev. Martin Canon Downey; Very Rev. Martin Canon Glynn, VF; Very Rev. Thomas Canon Marrinan, VF; Very Rev. Michael Dean McLoughlin; Very Rev. Tadhg Canon Quinn; Very Rev. Michael Canon Reilly.

College of Consultors

In the Diocese of Galway, the Cathedral Chapter has been entrusted with the functions of the college of consultors.

"The college of consultors is a diocesan body whose role is to assist in the governance of the diocese. As such, its president is the diocesan bishop. If the see is impeded or vacant, the college is presided over by the one taking the bishop's place in accordance with Can. 413, 419 and 421. Until the appointment of an interim administrator, the senior among the consultors presides at their meetings.

When the see is vacant, additional duties devolve upon the college of consultors. Unless there is an auxiliary bishop, the senior member of the college by ordination must convoke the college to elect a diocesan administrator, until which time he enjoys the power of Vicar General. Within eight days, the college must meet to elect the administrator; when elected, he must make his profession of faith in the presence of the college. The consultors also take on the role otherwise exercised by the council of priests."
                                                   Extract from The Canon Law: Letter & Spirit, eds Brown, Kelly, McGrath & Sheehy (Dublin: Veritas, 1995)