Skip to main content
Diocesan coat of arms

Diocese of GalwayKilmacduagh & Kilfenora

Deoise na GaillimheChill Mac Duach & Chill Fhionnúrach

Safeguarding in the Diocese

Safeguarding Office

Diocesan Pastoral Outreach Centre
Árus de Brún, Newtownsmith, Galway

Director of Safeguarding: Kevin Duffy
T. +353 (0)87 614 1736
T. +353 (0)91 575053 / 565066

Administrator: Ita O'Mahony
T: +353 (0)91 575051


Kevin Duffy
Lizzie Harrison

Diocesan Child Protection Committee

The Committee is comprised of personnel from parishes and diocesan agencies. It develops and enhances the work being done in the diocese to ensure the safety and protection from harm of children and vulnerable adults involved in church activities.

The Chair of the Diocesan Child Protection Committee is Mary Smith. She can be contacted through the Safeguarding Office.
T. +353 (0)91 575051

National Board for Safeguarding Children in the Catholic Church in Ireland

The National Board for Safeguarding Children in the Catholic Church in Ireland (NBSCCCI) is a not-for-profit organisation funded through:
• The Irish Catholic Bishops' Conference;
• The Association of Leaders of Missionaries and Religious of Ireland (AMRI).

It assists the development of policy, procedures and practices across the church in Ireland. It offers advice on best practice, including training and advice on case management and implementation of national standards and guidance. It monitors the practice of child safeguarding across the church.

The NBSCCCI website is at

Support services for those affected by abuse

Towards Peace logoTowards Peace

Spiritual support for survivors of abuse by Catholic Church personnel in Ireland. See


Towards Healing logoTowards Healing

A Catholic Church response to institutional, clerical and religious abuse. See